The strategy of the French basins to achieve good water status by 2015

In France, the water resources are managed in an integrated manner, in river basin districts. The river basin districts are delineated by the dividing lines of the surface water.

12 basins have been delineated:

  • 7 basins in Metropolitan France: Adour-Garonne, Artois-Picardie, Corsica, Loire-Bretagne, Rhin-Meuse, Rhône-Méditerranée and Seine-Normandie
  • and 5 overseas basins: Guadeloupe, Guyane, Martinique, Reunion and Mayotte.

The strategy of the French basins to achieve good water status by 2015, which is the objective set by the Water Framework Directive of 2000, comprises plans for managing water in major river basin districts, and the Water Development and Management Master Plan (SDAGE).

These Water Development and Management Master Plans are prepared and validated by the stakeholders in the water sector, within the main orientations of national and European water policies, in basin committees fostering debate and local consensus-building in the spirit of the French Grenelle Environment policy.

The mission of the water agencies and overseas water offices is integrated into the strategy of the Water Development and Management Master Plans, which define, for each river basin district, the basic orientations for well-balanced management of the water resources and the water quantity and quality targets. The objectives of the Water Development and Management Master Plans constitute a French commitment to the EU authorities.

The Water Development and Management Master Plans 2010-2015 came into effect on December 22, 2009, following a vast development and consensus-building process (including with the general public) led by the basin committees.

The Water Development and Management Master Plans 2010-2015 are supplemented with operational programmes (action plans). The implementation of these programmes of measures, in the form of regional and local action plans, are managed by two authorities: the water agencies and the State.

The scope of the Water Development and Management Master Plans is broad. The urban planning documents (regional coherence schemes, local urban plans, communal plans etc.) must be compatible with their basic orientations and objectives, meaning that they must not feature provisions that conflict with the Water Development and Management Master Plans. The same holds true for the administrative decisions in the water sector, and those concerning facilities classified for the protection of the environment.

 

To read the Water Development and Management Master Plans for the basins of Metropolitan France, click on the map or on the links below.

La stratégie des bassins français pour atteindre le bon état des eaux en 2015

En France, les ressources en eau font l’objet d’une gestion intégrée par bassin hydrographique. Les bassins hydrographiques sont délimités par les lignes de partage des eaux superficielles.

12 bassins ont été délimités :

  • 7 bassins métropolitains : Adour-Garonne, Artois-Picardie, Corse, Loire-Bretagne, Rhin-Meuse, Rhône-Méditerranée, Seine-Normandie
  • et 5 bassins d’outre-mer : Guadeloupe, Guyane, Martinique, Réunion et Mayotte.

La stratégie des bassins français pour atteindre le bon état des eaux en 2015, objectif de résultats fixés par la directive cadre sur l’eau de 2000, se décline dans les plans de gestion des eaux par grands bassins hydrographiques, les schémas directeurs d’aménagement et de gestion des eaux (SDAGE).

Ces SDAGE sont préparés et validés par les acteurs de l’eau, dans le cadre des grandes orientations des politiques nationale et européenne de l’eau, au sein des comités de bassin où s’exercent le débat et la concertation locale dans l’esprit du Grenelle.

La mission des agences de l’eau et des offices de l’eau ultra marins s’inscrit dans la stratégie des SDAGE qui définissent, pour chaque bassin hydrographique, les orientations fondamentales d’une gestion équilibrée de la ressource et les objectifs de quantité et de qualité des eaux. Les objectifs des SDAGE constituent un engagement français vis-à-vis des autorités communautaires.

Les schémas directeurs d’aménagement et de gestion des eaux 2010-2015 sont entrés en vigueur le 22 décembre 2009 après un vaste processus d’élaboration et de concertation (y compris avec le grand public) animé par les comités de bassin.

Les SDAGE 2010-2015 sont complétés par des programmes opérationnels de mesures (plans d’actions). La mise en oeuvre de ces programmes de mesures déclinés en plans d’actions territoriaux relève d’une double animation, agences de l’eau et services de l’Etat.

La portée des SDAGE est importante. Les documents d’urbanismes (schéma de cohérence territoriale, plans locaux d’urbanisme, cartes communales…) doivent être en effet compatibles avec leurs orientations fondamentales et leurs objectifs, c’est-à-dire qu’ils ne doivent pas comporter de dispositions contraires au SDAGE. Il en va de même des décisions administratives dans le domaine de l’eau et celles concernant les installations classées pour la protection de l’environnement.